• The department of Mathematics was set up by Professor Jiang Lifu in 1920. Over the past several decades, it has nurtured a great number of excellent scholars for the development of mathematics in modern China, e.g., the famous mathematician Professor S. S. Chern, the well-known professor Jiang Zehan, and Professor Daren Wu. All of them graduated from this department. Since 1949, the department has made a tremendous progress and initiated some new programs such as Computer Software, Automatic Control, Information Science, and Statistics & Probability, which are important for the development of China. In 1985, the programs of Computer Software and Auto-Control were separated from the department and became the Department of Computer and System-Sciences.

    In 1986, a “class for the talented” was opened in the department under the permission of the National Education Commission of China. This class annually enrolls 30 to 35 students who are winners of national mathematical contests. After graduation, those students who excel in studies will be admitted to the graduate school directly without entrance examination. In 1993, the class was renamed by the National Education Commission as the “Training Base for Researchers and teachers of Basic Sciences of the Country.”

    The Nankai Institute of Mathematics was established in 1995. The first appointed director was Prof. S. S. Chern, who was a member of the American Science Association, a two times winner of the Wolf Prize (in 1983 and 1984) and the ex-director of the American Institute of Mathematics. The objective of the Nankai Institute of Mathematics is to unite Chinese and foreign mathematicians to contribute to the progress of pure and applied mathematics in China.

    Founded in 1997, the Center for Combinatorics (CFC) has become a first-class academic institution for combinatorial research and intellectual inquiry in China. Its research activities range from the theoretical to the applied, and cover a wide range of fields of study across Combinatorics and Graph Theory.

    Also founded in 1997, the school of mathematical sciences now consists of six departments—the Department of Pure Mathematics, the Department of Informatics and Probability, the Department of Statistics, the Department of Applied Mathematics, the Department of Scientific and engineering Computing, the Department of Mathematical Finance and Actuarial Science. In addition to these departments, advanced mathematics teaching office is set up for the mathematics courses of the whole university.