Professor You Jiangong of Nankai University won the World Academy of Sciences Award in Mathematics

Release:2022-11-19 Viewed:11

The eighth winner from mainland China and the fourth winner from Nankai University.

    From Nankai University News Network (Correspondent: Li Hongqin; Reporter: Hao Jingqiu): Recently, You Jiangong, a professor of the Chern Institute of Mathematics of Nankai University, won 2024 the World Academy of Sciences (in short, TWAS) Award in Mathematics for his extraordinary contributions to dynamics systems.

    TWAS is a globally renowned academic institution committed to supporting scientific research in developing countries. Its awards cover the fields of agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, mathematics, medicine, physics, and sociology, to honor scholars from different countries. This year, a total of 13 scientists were awarded, and Professor You Jiangong is the only recipient of the Award in Mathematics.

    Professor You is recognized for his essential contributions to the development of the Kolmogorov-Arnold-Moser (KAM) theory and applications in differential equations, dynamics systems and the spectral theory of quasi-periodic Schrödinger operators.

    Professor You’s research on the Hamiltonian system and its application is systematic and profound, with a series of results published in famous journals such as Invent. Math., Duke Math. J, Ann ENS, GAFA, and PRL. He was once invited to deliver a 45-minute special lecture at the 28th International Congress of Mathematicians, and won the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, the Hong Kong Qiu Shi Science & Technologies Foundation for Distinguished Young Scholars, the State Scientific and Technological Progress Award (First Class Prize), and the National Natural Science Award (Second Class Prize), etc.

    In recent years, the TWAS has been given every two years, and winning this award indicates the winner mathematician’s international academic prominence. Since its establishment, a total of 8 winner mathematicians are from mainland China, namely Academician Liao Shantao (1986), Academician Wu Wenjun (1990), Academician Zhang Gongqing (1993), Academician Zhang Weiping (2000), Academician Long Yiming (2004), Academician Yuan Yaxiang (2014), Professor Tang Zizhou (2020) and Professor You Jiangong (2024). Professor You Jiangong is the fourth winner of the TWAS Award in Mathematics from Nankai University after Academician Zhang Weiping, Academician Long Yiming and Professor Tang Zizhou.

News link to TWAS:

Editor: Hao Jingqiu